CONVERSATIONS about ISRAEL, INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS and LAW 

Episode 3 – The conflict between Fatah and Hamas: the end of Oslo?

In the 1990’s, Israel and the PLO committed themselves in the Oslo Accords to a process for negotiations that would eventually lead to Palestinian autonomy. The Palestinian Authority and many other institutions were established. 

But “Oslo” has failed. For over a decade there have been no negotiations. 

Palestinian society is deeply divided. The cancellation of Palestinian elections and the recent Hamas’ aggression have exposed the vicious power struggle between Fatah/PLO and Hamas.

In the meantime the PLO under Mahmoud Abbas has been manipulating international institutions like the ICC to achieve statehood − thus by-passing the negotiation process.

What does all of this mean for the Peace Process and the ‘two-state solution’? 

In short: is there a future for “Oslo”? If not − what are the alternatives?  

Does international law provide an answer to this complex situation? 

Join our panel of experts who will explore these important issues. 

 

Guests

  • Prof. Robbie Sabel, professor of International Law at Hebrew University, Jerusalem, and Visiting professor at Tel Aviv University and IDC Herzliya.  Prof. Sabel is Member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague. Former positions at the Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs include: Deputy Director General for Arms Control and Disarmament; Coordinator for combatting Antisemitism and Head of Israel Delegation at the Taba arbitration with Egypt.
  • Dr. Kobi Michael, Senior research fellow at INSS, the Institute for National Security Services at Tel Aviv University, and editor of “Strategic Assessment”. Among his primary research interests are conflict resolution; national security; civil-military relations; failed states and state building; and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Dr. Michael served as the deputy director general and head of the Palestinian desk at the Ministry for Strategic Affairs.

 

This is the third episode of a series of conversations about Israel, International Relations and Law in a rapidly changing Middle East. The  conversation will include Q&A.

Moderator: Andrew Tucker

 

Date: THURSDAY, 24 June 2021

Time: 5 am New York / 11 am Amsterdam / noon Israel / 5 pm Singapore / 7 pm Sydney / 9 pm New Zealand

Duration: 75 mins

The return of the Jewish people to Palestine over the last 150 years raises many controversial international law issues. The Mandate for Palestine, the failed 1947 UN Partition Plan, the establishment of the State of Israel in 1948 followed by Arab/Israeli wars, military administration of territory, the creation of the PLO, the Israel/Palestinian conflict and the Oslo Accords – all involve complex legal, historical, political and even religious aspects.

Is Israel a colonialist enterprise? Is the occupation illegal? Why have Israel and the Palestinians so far been unable to reach agreement about the “occupied” territories? 

In this webinar series, specialists in international law, politics and history share their insights into the current state of international law, major trends, challenges and opportunities.

The conversations will be broadcast on Zoom, recorded and (in the future) live streamed via YouTube. Please, register to participate live in the webinar.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email