CONVERSATIONS about ISRAEL, INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS and LAW 

Episode 1 – THE ICC AND UN RESOLUTIONS

Professor Gregory Rose is a leading expert in maritime law and international criminal law. He was co-author of a submission to the International Criminal Court (ICC) in 2020 about the “situation in Palestine”. In this session, he discusses the recent decisions of the ICC, and the modern trend to regard UN resolutions as sources of international law.

This is the first episode in a series of conversations about Israel, International Relations and Law in a rapidly changing Middle East. The  conversation will include Q&A.

Moderator: Andrew Tucker

 

Date: THURSDAY, 6 May 2021

Time: 11:00 am CET / noon IDT / 5 pm SGT / 7 pm AEST / 9 pm NZST

Duration: 1 hour

The return of the Jewish people to Palestine over the last 150 years raises many controversial international law issues. The Mandate for Palestine, the failed 1947 UN Partition Plan, the establishment of the State of Israel in 1948 followed by Arab/Israeli wars, military administration of territory, the creation of the PLO, the Israel/Palestinian conflict and the Oslo Accords – all involve complex legal, historical, political and even religious aspects.

Is Israel a colonialist enterprise? Is the occupation illegal? Why have Israel and the Palestinians so far been unable to reach agreement about the “occupied” territories? 

In this webinar series, specialists in international law, politics and history share their insights into the current state of international law, major trends, challenges and opportunities.

The conversations will be broadcast on Zoom, recorded and (in the future) live streamed via YouTube. Please, register to participate live in the webinar.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email